The last 20something

When you are 19, a day away from turning 20, you have an idea of where you are going to be in ten years and what you hope your twenties will be like. Of course what you don’t know is how grateful you will be that it didn’t turn out the way you hoped you it would.

All those little accidents and all the shit I went through, brought me to the girl I am looking at in the mirror.

I don’t have a list of things I want to do before I turn thirty, live each day to the fullest and all those cliched things? Maybe. Possibly. I would like to spend more time with my parents, go on that holiday with my sister and brother, lose some more facial elasticity to smiling and not frowning (have that covered with a ‘my kidneys are smiling kind of love’), see Panny and Rach and Naush and of course write.

Here are some lessons I have learnt along the way:

I have the body I always dreamed of, it’s the same body I’ve always had, it just happens that I now have confidence. You can’t buy confidence, you have to work at it so I bought white jeans instead.

Waxing when you are nineteen: oh my god I have to take everything off? Waxing when you are twenty nine: the moment you realise the waxing lady has no issues with personal space and neither do you.

Freebies are awesome at any age (thanks Sephora) as are cupcakes.

No one needs to cry over the prospect of wrinkle creams.

Your family, loved ones and friends are all you will ever need on birthdays and most days of the year and you are the best thing that ever happened to me.

I love you all for real reasons, I love you all for silly reasons, the silly ones are my favourite, thank you from the bottom of my heart for making my twenties awesome.

4 thoughts on “The last 20something

Leave a Reply

