A new perspective

This is a new category I am playing with, so recently I have been developing my own healthy recipes for my family and friends. I love a sweet treat and I love the idea of treats being full of good wholesome yumminess too. The inspiration for this recipe comes from the idea of trying to eat alkaline boosting foods, something I have been trying to encourage in my diet and lifestyle more recently. I am still a rookie but love exploring food through this new perspective.

I made these muffins and they turned out great, so wanted to share them here. Try them out, share the recipe, post your pictures and let me know how you find them!

20131116-135124.jpg

Lemon and poppy muffins (makes 12)

Line a muffin tray with 12 cases and set oven at 170 degrees centigrade, just so you are aware I use a fan assisted oven.

Put these dry ingredients in a bowl and mix:

2 cups organic spelt flour
2 tsp baking powder
5 tbs oats
5 rounds of sea salt (if you are using a grinder, other wise quarter of a tsp)
1/2 tsp Cinnamon
1/2 tsp Nutmeg
1 tsp Poppy seeds

In a jug hand whisk:

250ml of soya milk (you can use almond or rice milk if you like, I love the creamy nature of soya milk)
1 egg
90ml of almond oil
Zest and juice of one lemon
1/2 cup of honey

Mix wet and dry ingredients with hand whisk.

Add half teaspoon of bicarbonate soda and 2 teaspoon organic apple cider vinegar to batter and stir in.

Pour batter into muffin cases until the case is just under half a centimetre full, sprinkle with some oats and bake for 20-25 minutes. I bake mine for 20 minutes, a good way to tell if they are done is just tap your index finger down gently on the muffin, if it pops back up, the muffins are ready.

Leave a Reply

