A bride’s gotta eat

Only four days before my mum and I head off to Karachi for the wedding, which means lots of last minute shopping trips with my lovely sister for things like nude suede shoes and the new Chanel Rouge Allure Radieuse lipstick. That inspired me to take a leaf out of Honestly Healthy’s book and put together my own fridge fill until I fly off on Thursday, which makes life a little bit easy for a wannabe alkalising bride to be and her maid of honour. Thought I would share my recipes with you.

With a little under four weeks to the big day, it’s time to knuckle down. This week for my morning green glass I am juicing half a banana, with a ripe peeled pear, two handfuls of spinach, a heaped tablespoon of ground almonds, a heaped teaspoon of Naturya wheatgrass powder and about 150mls of water. I have been throwing in a tablespoon of honey too.

We are snacking on yummy carrot sticks (which supports detoxing – the process of transforming beta-carotene in carrots into vitamin A in the intestines also speeds up the metabolism) and almonds (because they are awesome skin food). Treats include yummy Nakd Bars, avocados and smoked salmon.

This salad came together last fall while I was visiting Canada, my friends and I have fallen in love with it. For two people all you need is a plate full of rocket or spinach, a sliced avocado, 100g of smoked salmon, 50g of crumbled feta and an orange, peeled and sliced into small pieces. Honestly you don’t even need a dressing, maybe a splash of olive oil and maple syrup mixed into the renegade juices from the orange. Throw it into a bowl and toss it together. Each mouthful explodes with the juiciness from the orange, the salt from the feta, the peppery rocket, the creamy avocado and the smoked salmon.

As I will be out during the day I am carrying individually packed herbal teas in my bag (at the moment it’s Dr. Stuarts Skin Purify and Caudalie) and delicious homemade packed lunch salads. For myself and so many others salads are the best way to get lots of good things into the system in one go. The dressing is my own recipe, with super alkalising ingredients like lemon zest and juice, organic apple cider vinegar and zingy ginger. I had a pomegranate at home so threw it in last minute, I think it looks beautiful!

20131202-155048.jpg

I haven’t really thought of a name for this one but if you have any suggestions, would love to hear them! Hope you enjoy it as much as I did making it. Sending you all lots of happy food thoughts.

Makes four servings

For the salad:
400g Edamame beans
160g Tofu (cooked the way you like it or Cauldron’s Marinated Organic Tofu Pieces)
British Salad Cress (one packet)
60g sunflower seeds
Fruit of one pomegranate
A handful of green beans

For the dressing whisk together:
Zest and juice of half a lemon
2 tablespoons of almond oil (you can use coconut, olive or sesame oil)
1 tablespoon Whole Earth crunchy organic peanut butter (melted)
1 tablespoon organic apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon honey
1 teaspoon grated ginger
A pinch of chilli flakes

Mix salad ingredients in a bowl, pour dressing and toss together.

PS. Don’t forget to wash it all down with lots of water.

3 thoughts on “A bride’s gotta eat

Leave a Reply

