Juice, glorious juice

I contemplated the world of juice for a while, only really getting into it last October before my wedding in a bid to get amazing skin. I had no fancy equipment, just my Mum’s hand blender and a questionable jug. Of course I now have a bullet juicer which makes life much easier! The idea of green juice (blended spinach amongst things) was a scary thought for my palette but the thought of drinking raw wheatgrass on it’s own was much worse so I started mixing with vegetables and fruit. If you are like me (once upon a time) and seriously unsure, these recipes are a yummy way to get started and they aren’t all green!

20140507-015013.jpg

Karachi Green Juice

(Serves one)

I drank this everyday in Karachi before my wedding and it was a real team effort, I think that is why it tasted so good. I used spinach my uncle grew on his farm, my cousins would bring home fresh coconut water and I love the bananas in Karachi, they are small and so sweet, if you can do this how I did, lucky you, if not, it’s just as good.

Blend a handful of homegrown spinach, fresh water from one coconut, one small banana and a heaped teaspoon of Naturya wheatgrass.

Optional add on: A tablespoon of ground almonds.

My Green Go To

(Serves two)

Hope you love this one as much as me. I used to be an apple a day kind of girl until I started juicing pears. It’s super refreshing because of the parsley.

Blend one pear, a generous handful of spinach, a cup of cold pressed apple juice and a few sprigs of parsley.

Optional add on: A tablespoon of Naturya wheatgrass.

20140507-004450.jpg

Strawberries & Banana

(Serve two)

My take on a classic.

Blitz one banana, a generous cup of quartered strawberries, a cup of coconut water (or coconut milk if you want a more decadent milkshake) and eight ice cubes.

Optional add ons: Chia seeds, a tablespoon of Vega protein.

ABC Juice

(Serves one)

My awesome Mum-in-law gets this freshly pressed for the whole house during the winter months in Karachi. It’s aptly named by a cousin and we can’t get enough of it.

Pull the juice from one apple, beetroot and carrot.

Optional add ons: Pinch of cinnamon, a piece of ginger.

Avocado and Wheatgrass

Beauty Cream

(Serves Two)

Thick and luxurious, it’s got some stuff in it that can help to give your skin a glow.

Whizz a small avocado, 300g of pineapple, 2 cups of coconut water and a tablespoon of Naturya wheatgrass.

Optional add on: Chlorophyll drops. 


4 thoughts on “Juice, glorious juice

  1. Pingback: Award Season | Confessions Of A Quirky Princess

  2. Pingback: Award Season | The Quirky Princess

Leave a Reply

