To your good health

Thanksgiving weekend in Canada, fall is really here and my friends and I are off to a beautiful cottage in Golden Lakes for campfires, scary movies, a cheeky s’more and an epic brunch on Monday. If there is anyway to make a s’more healthy, I am not sure it has been discovered and nor do I want to, something’s are perhaps best enjoyed completely adulterated (some good quality chocolate and gluten-free crackers could be a good tweak).

As I try to fathom what I have gotten myself into by offering to cook a Thanksgiving meal for the first time in my life, (it can’t be any different to Christmas dinner right?) I am grateful that there is no turkey to deal with. Before you start imagining a tofu shaped bird (an interesting idea), let me just tell you no such thing will be happening, a recipe or two will be up soon enough.

As well being really excited about this weekend, in this post I have to do a shout out to all of you, as about a year ago, I completely changed the direction of this blog as I changed the direction of my life when my late grandma was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer. Looking for a way to help her I sought the advice of everyone I could think of.

My husband’s beautiful aunt told me to encourage her to eat a more alkaline based diet. Although my grandma’s cancer was too far gone to be reversed, for the first time I learnt what being healthy truly meant. Having suffered from an autoimmune disorder myself since 2008, taking medicine for it everyday never sat well with me and I was always looking for a different way to treat myself.

I came across a lifestyle called Honestly Healthy and it all just made sense. I decided to adapt a more plant-based diet, cutting down meat, dairy, wheat, salt and sugar from my lifestyle. I started drinking lemon and water, green juicing in the morning and sharing my recipes and experiences here. The change in my condition has been remarkable, I feel much healthier and stronger. Your likes and love, are a real incentive to keep sharing and writing, so thank you.

Although my grandma has moved on, I feel, even in her departure from this world she left me with a gift. I started researching all of this for her but it ended up changing my life and helping me with my illness. So this year, I hope all of you will join me in giving thanks for our health, the health of our loved ones and this wonderful community we are so blessed to be a part of. Keep spreading the good food vibes and love.

Happy Thanksgiving xo
IMG_1414.JPG

Courtesy: Nausheen Dadabhoy

Leave a Reply

