Banana “Nutella” Brownies

It feels like it has taken me forever to figure out a good brownie recipe. Happy to say I finally have one which I am proud to put my name to. I love this one because it’s gloriously moist and isn’t full of empty calories.

I enjoy sweet treats and am by no means averse to them, I love a Hummingbird cupcake more than anyone and far be it from me to mess with perfection, their recipes are amazing. When I have my chef’s hat on in the kitchen, I love the idea of a dessert having some nutrients too so use things like cacao, buckwheat flour and good fats to boost my personal creations.

Coconut sugar, maple syrup and honey are still sugars, it doesn’t mean I can eat them all the time, but if I am going to have sugar, I opt for these over the white stuff because they are just as good in a recipe if not better. Growing up, we rarely ate white flour on a daily basis, so it’s not really something I will ever miss. Baking with buckwheat is something I have finally got the hang of and it is now one of my favourite flours, as are teff and kamut and coconut oil is so much more divine than butter. I love spreading it on toast with a pinch of Himalayan salt.

It makes me deliciously happy when I’m eating a sweet treat that will nourish my body. The only thing I won’t compromise on is taste, which is why I am finally able to share a brownie recipe. Hope you find them just as good.

IMG_1792.JPG

1 heaping tbsp coconut oil
3/4 cup coconut sugar
1/4 cup warm water
1/4 cup cacao powder
1tbsp hazelnut butter
2 eggs (or vegan equivalent)
2 incredibly ripe bananas, mashed
1/2 cup light buckwheat flour
1tsp baking powder
1/8tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350F and grease a tin.

Mix flour, baking powder and cinnamon and set aside.

In a sauce pan on a low heat, melt the coconut oil, then add sugar and water and stir until the sugar has dissolved. Next add the cacao and hazelnut butter and mix until you have a smooth and glossy chocolate mixture. Leave to cool slightly.

Beat the eggs well and add the bananas. Add the chocolate mixture, one spoon at a time and stir in until it has all been used. Add your dry ingredient mix and fold, everything should be nicely combined.

Pour into a tin and bake for 35-40 minutes (you might have to alter this according to the size of your tin).

Serve when they have cooled with a dusting of cacao powder.

2 thoughts on “Banana “Nutella” Brownies

    • They are yummy! You get a flax egg or two in there and you have a great vegan brownie! If you don’t have hazelnut, I think cashew would work as well and you can always make your own with some raw hazelnuts. Let me know how they turn out! xo

Leave a Reply

