Raw Mince Pie Bites

IMG_2338.JPG

What usually happens is my mind gets an idea and I wing it and sometimes it ends up tasting even better than imagined, I come here and share the love with you. These raw mince pie bites though…

I was craving mince pies (well everyone on my Instagram feed is posting their healthy versions of these glorious little Christmas treats) and while I love pastry, I am lazy when it comes to making it. That might sound ridiculous, given that I am posting food almost everyday and short of growing my own crops there isn’t much in our house that isn’t homemade, but seriously, pastry and dough, make me lazy. That’s why I haven’t even tried to attempt a healthy batch of mince pies, instead I took the easy way out with these raw bites.

They are so scrumptious, have all the depth and flavour of a mince pie and the best part is they are so healthy it’s just heavenly. Perfect fuel for your December workouts, these little bites will also give you an energy boost for Christmas shopping and help you keep well away from all the sugary stuff in coffee shops.

IMG_2383.JPG

Makes 6-8

Six Medjool dates, pits removed
1/2 cup almond meal
1/3 cup sultanas
1/4 cup dried currants
Zest and juice of half a Navel orange
1/4tsp cinnamon
Some shredded coconut to roll in (about 1/2 a cup)

Throw your dates and almond meal into a blender and whizz together. Add the rest of the ingredients and whizz once more.

Tip the lot into a bowl and knead into a sticky dough. Form bitesized balls until all the dough is used up.

Roll them in the shredded coconut and they are ready to serve.

Leave a Reply

