Party Food

The Marks & Spencer Christmas party food adverts would haunt my festive foodie dreams. In the past, appetizers were where my healthy habits would go to die.

Last year I didn’t have the luxury of indulging as I was getting married two days after Christmas, so I worked really hard to stay away from delicacies in miniature. Not to say I didn’t sneak one or two bites in of my favourite fancies from Hob Nob Bakery in Karachi.

However, what I have come to value as luxury over this past year, is being able to have my hearts fill by re-imagining classic recipes and turning them into something delicious and rewarding to my wellbeing.

This week I’ll be serving up some stunning appetizers on the blog. Party perfect food, worth having on the menu at your Christmas and New Year get-togethers.

I love guacamole but I want something a little more special for my guests this time of year, that’s why this avocado pâté is a fantastic alternate. Delicious, fresh and creamy, it is one everyone will enjoy and great for anyone who it trying to stay healthy.

IMG_2711.JPG

½ generous cup of raw cashews, soaked in water for an hour or so and drained
½ cup chilled water
1 avocado, chopped
3 green onions, sliced finely
2 garlic cloves, roughly sliced
Juice of ½ a lemon
1/2tsp paprika
Himalayan pink salt to season

To Garnish: Chives, finely chopped (optional)

To Serve: Organic oatcakes, vegetable crudités, gluten free crackers

Whizz cashews with the chilled water in your blender until smooth and creamy.

Add the rest of your ingredients and blend until they are all incorporated.

Empty into a dish and chill before serving with oatcakes, veggies and crackers.

4 thoughts on “Party Food

  1. Pingback: With logs on the fire, and gifts on the tree | Confessions Of A Quirky Princess

  2. Pingback: With logs on the fire, and gifts on the tree | The Quirky Princess

Leave a Reply

